Doktorarbeit: The Representation of the City in Jewish-American Literature of the 1930s

The Representation of the City in Jewish-American Literature of the 1930s

An Analysis of Selected Novels by Michael Gold, Daniel Fuchs, Charles Reznikoff and Henry Roth

- in englischer Sprache -

Studien zur Anglistik und Amerikanistik, volume 29

Hamburg , 296 pages

ISBN 978-3-8300-8640-6 (print)
ISBN 978-3-339-08640-2 (eBook)

about this book

deutsch english

The 1930s constituted a shift in the Jewish-American literature. It was the time when the first American-born Jewish authors, among them Michael Gold, Daniel Fuchs, Charles Reznikoff and Henry Roth, came to voice and began to give expression to their anxieties, fears, and anger. Their fiction was necessarily urban. Big metropolises, primarily New York, where the Jewish population gathered in masses, become here the stage where the drama of the coming-of-age in a multiethnic, multicultural and multilingual environment plays itself out. The urban space they show is naturally divided. One part occupies ‘home’, associated with the Old World, the immigrant parents and Yiddish. The other is the ‘street’, often a street of the ghetto, which stands for the challenges of the New World, the English language and culture.

As its primary focus the author of this study chose the representation of the city in the following four novels: Jews Without Money (1930) by Michael Gold, Summer in Williamsburg (1934) by Daniel Fuchs, By the Waters of Manhattan (1930) by Charles Reznikoff, and Call It Sleep (1934) by Henry Roth. Questions that guided this research were: how is the city, or New York, represented in a literary form in each of the novels, as well as: what is the interplay between the domestic and the public space? Apart from the main focus at the literary vision of the city there are also additional aspects which the author has successfully managed to incorporate into her study. This research contributes substantially to the field of Jewish Studies, particularly with reference to the phenomena of spatiality. It sheds new light onto the Jewish-American immigrant novel as it deals with some of the forgotten writers of the decade – like Daniel Fuchs and Charles Reznikoff, as well as reveals aspects in the already well-researched works by Gold and Roth which have so far been neglected by literary critics. The literary analysis in this study has been preceded by a thorough investigation of the socio-historical phenomena which constituted a background for the creation of the four works. This part of the study has been divided into two chapters. Here important figures, historical phenomena, and ground-breaking concepts of the times are discussed, such as Louis Wirth and the “ghetto”, R. E. Park and E. Stonequist and the “marginal man”, Walter Benjamin and his ideas about city’s porosity and city flânerie, or Max Nordau’s “Luftmenschen”. All of these concepts are of considerable significance for the literary discussion that follows.

The first chapter of the literary analysis is a brilliant study of Michael Gold’s Jews Without Money, in which the author has managed to transcend the conventional readings of the novel, which as a rule perceive Gold’s work in the tradition of the proletarian and radical fiction, and put into foreground some forgotten aspects of the novel. Particularly the parts of the study which focus on the various images of the city which has been distinguished by the author in Gold’s novel, such as the vision of the Lower East Side ghetto as a cultural palimpsest or as a circus, need to be emphasized here as worth reading. The same applies to the multiple literary references, as well as links to Judaic religious tradition and secular Jewish themes the author has detected in the text of the novel.

The next chapter of the study constitutes is a thoroughly successful analysis of one of the unjustly forgotten, and hence under-researched, books of the decade – By the Waters of Manhattan by Charles Reznikoff. Here the author discovers astounding connections between the writer’s poetic vision of New York and the various locations which point to Jewish Diasporic life. Reznikoff’s New York is informed with these, so called, Jewish spaces of reference. The author of the study refers also to the concept of the Jewish Luftmenschen, which is inseparably tied to the world of the Eastern European shtetl, and brilliantly connects it with the figure of a typical marginal man of the times, a walker in New York, who is a main protagonist of the short novel.

The chapter on Daniel Fuchs’ Summer in Williamsburg deserves equal attention as the preceding ones. Here the author of the study brings back from the literary oblivion a wonderful novel by another unjustly forgotten Jewish writer of the 1930s. The analysis takes the readers on a voyeuristic tour of the New York slums and allows them to get a glimpse of the violent world of the ghetto tenement. Through an aptly-chosen selection of scenes from the novel, the author of the study has succeeded in showing how Fuchs paints his literary vision of the urban horror.

In the last part of the study the author has undertaken a daunting task of analysing Henry Roth’s novel, a once neglected work, meanwhile a praised and well-researched classic of Jewish-American literature – Call It Sleep. She has managed to complete this task masterfully by focusing primarily on those aspects of the novel which have so far escaped critics’ attention. While the author does not fail to mention the novel’s indebtedness to Freudian psychology or its extensive use of symbolism, she directs her discussion onto different topics and consistently asks about the image of the city in the novel. The vision of the city she investigates here is a modernist urban underworld where the private realm of “home” and public space of the “street” remain throughout the novel in an exciting interplay.

It is a noteworthy, well-researched, well-structured, intelligent, and yet, at the same time, well-readable and comprehensible study, an absolute mast-read for all those interested in Jewish literature and Jewish-oriented themes. It is, without a doubt, also worth looking at by those concerned with the problems of acculturation, cultural marginality, and urban spatiality.

Ihr Werk im Verlag Dr. Kovač

Bibliothek, Bücher, Monitore

Möchten Sie Ihre wissenschaftliche Arbeit publizieren? Erfahren Sie mehr über unsere günstigen Konditionen und unseren Service für Autorinnen und Autoren.

  Nach oben ▲

Dissertation: The Representation of the City in Jewish-American Literature of the 1930s

The Representation of the City in Jewish-American Literature of the 1930s

An Analysis of Selected Novels by Michael Gold, Daniel Fuchs, Charles Reznikoff and Henry Roth

- in englischer Sprache -

Studien zur Anglistik und Amerikanistik, Band 29

Hamburg 2015, 296 Seiten
ISBN 978-3-8300-8640-6

American Modernism, Ethnic Modernism, Great Depression, Home vs. Street, Jewish-American Literature, Jewish Spaces of Reference, Marginal Man, New York, Proletarian Novel, The Ghetto

Zum Inhalt

deutsch | english

Die 1930er stellten für die Jüdisch-Amerikanische Literatur eine Phase des Umbruchs. In dieser Zeit verschafften sich zum ersten Mal diejenigen Schriftsteller jüdischer Abstammung, die bereits in Amerika geboren wurden, Gehör. Autoren wie Michael Gold, Daniel Fuchs, Charles Reznikoff und Henry Roth begannen in ihren Werken ihre Sorgen, Ängste und ihre Wut auszudrücken. Ihre Prosa war zwangsläufig eine Literatur der Großstadt. Großstädte, vor allem New York, in denen sich eine zahlreiche jüdische Gemeinschaft entwickelte, waren die Bühnen auf denen sich das Drama vom Heranwachsen in einem multiethnischen, multikulturellen und vielsprachigen Milieu abspielte. Der städtische Raum, der in ihren Romanen zum Vorschein kommt, ist gespalten. Das „Zuhause? ist eng verknüpft mit der Alten Welt, den aus den osteuropäischen Stetls ausgewanderten Eltern und deren Sprache – Yiddisch. Die „Straße“ wiederum, die oft eine Straße des Ghettos ist, verdeutlicht die Herausforderungen der Neuen Welt, der Englischen Sprache und -Kultur.

Den Schwerpunkt dieser Studie bildet die Analyse der Darstellung der Großstadt in den folgenden vier Romanen: Jews Without Money (1930) von Michael Gold, Summer in Williamsburg (1934) von Daniel Fuchs, By the Waters of Manhattan (1930) von Charles Reznikoff und Call It Sleep (1934) von Henry Roth. Die beiden folgenden Forschungsfragen haben die Studie angeleitet: Welche literarische Form nimmt die Darstellung der Großstadt, insbesondere New Yorks, in den jeweiligen Romanen an und wie wird das Wechselspiel zwischen privatem und öffentlichem Raum abgebildet. Darüber hinaus leistet die Studie einen wesentlichen Beitrag zum Bereich der jüdischen Studien und stellt hier besonders in Bezug auf Räumlichkeit eine Bereicherung dar. Die Studie wartet mit neuen Erkenntnissen zu den oben genannten und zum Teil in Vergessenheit geratenen Romanen auf und liefert so neue Impulse für die Jüdisch-Amerikanische Auswanderungsliteratur. Auch hinsichtlich der in der Literaturwissenschaft ausführlich analysierten Romane von Gold und Roth, finden sich neue, bisher unbeachtete Aspekte. Dem Literaturkritischen Teil der Studie geht eine gründliche und ausführliche Untersuchung der soziohistorischen Bedingungen voran, denen die Entstehung der vier untersuchten Romane unterlag. Hier werden bedeutende Namen und wegweisende Begriffe dieser Zeit behandelt, wie etwa Louis Wirth und das „Ghetto“ R.E Park und E. Stonequist und der „marginal man“, Walter Benjamins Großstadttheorien oder Max Nordau „Luftmenschen“.

Das erste Kapitel des literaturkritischen Teils der Forschungsarbeit stellt eine exzellente Untersuchung Micheal Golds Jews Without Money dar, in der es der Verfasserin gelingt, über die konventionellen Deutungen des Romans, die Golds Werk überwiegend in der Tradition der proletarischen und radikalen Literatur auslegen, hinauszugehen und bisher unerforschte Aspekte ans Licht zu bringen. Als besonders lesenswert erweisen sich die Passagen, in denen sich die Verfasserin mit den verschieden Erscheinungsbildern der Großstadt befasst, wie etwa der Darstellung des Lower East Side Ghettos als kulturelles Palimpsest oder als Zirkus. Gleiches gilt sowohl für die zahlreichen literarischen Bezüge, als auch für die religiösen und säkularen Verbindungen zum Judentum, die die Verfasserin ermittelt und diskutiert.

In der folgenden, gleichermaßen gelungenen, Untersuchung des zu Unrecht vergessenen und daher unerforschten Romans By the Waters of Manhatten von Charles Reznikoff, deckt die Verfasserin neue, erstaunliche Zusammenhänge zwischen Reznikoffs poetischer Vision New Yorks und den verschiedenen Orten, die auf ein Leben in einer jüdischen Diaspora anspielen, auf. Sie bezieht sich unter anderem auf den Begriff des jüdischen Luftmenschen, der unzertrennlich mit der Welt des osteuropäischen Stetls verbunden ist und stellt geniale Zusammenhänge zur Figur des typischen „marginal man“ dieser Zeit, einem Großstadtwanderer, her.

Ein ebenso hohes Maß an Aufmerksamkeit verdient das dritte Kapitel. Mit Summer of Williamsburg von Daniel Fuchs, gelingt es der Verfasserin einen weiteren wundervollen Roman eines ebenfalls vernachlässigten Schriftstellers der 1930er aus seiner literarischen Vergessenheit zu bergen. Ihre Betrachtungen laden den Leser ein auf eine voyeuristische Reise durch die Slums New Yorks und lassen ihn eintauchen in die gewalttätige Welt des Ghettos. Durch eine geschickte Auswahl an Szenen, gelingt es der Verfasserin, Fuchs literarische Vision des städtischen Grauens treffend darzustellen.

Im abschließenden Kapitel stellt sich die Verfasserin der gewaltigen Herausforderung, mit Henry Roths Call It Sleep einen mittlerweile umfassend analysierten Klassiker der Jüdisch-Amerikanischen Literatur auf bisher unentdeckte Gesichtspunkte zu untersuchen. An den gängigen Bezügen auf die Freudsche Psychologie und die komplexe Symbolik des Werks vorbei, lenkt die Verfasserin, ohne diese aus den Augen zu verlieren, die Diskussion in unerschlossenes Terrain und fragt konsequent nach Roths Darstellung der Stadt. Sie entdeckt, inmitten eines spannenden Zusammenspiels von privatem (zu Hause)und öffentlichen (die Straße) Raum, eine moderne urbane Unterwelt. Es handelt sich bei dieser bemerkenswerten, herausragend recherchierten, intelligenten, wobei stets lesbaren und verständlichen Studie um ein Muss, sowohl für all diejenigen, die sich mit jüdischer Literatur auseinandersetzen, als auch für jene, die sich für Akkulturation, kulturelle Marginalität, sowie die städtische Räumlichkeit interessieren.



Sie wollen Ihre Dissertation veröffentlichen?

nach oben